Terminal only device
Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team
Terminal only device
Hello,
I have recently decided to get back to F@H and I have installed the client v8.4 on my debian home-server, and I was thinking, how can I control it knowing that my device does not have a GUI.
What Ive tried:
-links(TUI browser)
-reverse proxy onto the 127.0.0.1
I have recently decided to get back to F@H and I have installed the client v8.4 on my debian home-server, and I was thinking, how can I control it knowing that my device does not have a GUI.
What Ive tried:
-links(TUI browser)
-reverse proxy onto the 127.0.0.1
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 8074
- Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
- Hardware configuration: Mac Studio M1 Max 32 GB smp6
Mac Hack i7-7700K 48 GB smp4 - Location: W. MA
Re: Terminal only device
The way I have heard of to control a headless device is to use any other system with a usable web browser and set up an account with the Web Control - https://v8-4.foldingathome.org/. Once the account has been set up and verified you would have a folding Token set in your settings window, you can pass that into the headless client settings by creating a config.xml file in the data directory for the client and restarting. The client will read that file on initial installation or restarts and update settings if they are different from what is stored. Config.xml is otherwise read only, the client settings are written to a client.db file.
I found a sample config.xml file that I think has the syntax correct for doing this:
The machine-name line is optional, I don't know the limitations on what can be used. If not set here it will be taken from the local network name for the machine. The token value and optional machine name should be copied between the double quotes without spaces.
I found a sample config.xml file that I think has the syntax correct for doing this:
Code: Select all
<config>
<account-token v=“ ”/>
<machine-name v=" "/>
</config>
Re: Terminal only device
Well with this config file I get parsing error in line 2:17, so here:
And I cant seem to be able to find any example config files nor docs for them on github or anywhere else
EDIT: I get this error code:
and before you ask, I have tried copy pasting my token more than once for that reason and I leave no spaces inside the v field
Code: Select all
v
<account-token v="not telling ya"/>
EDIT: I get this error code:
Code: Select all
16:44:32:E :Exception: Parse failed: 4: not well-formed (invalid token)
16:44:32:E : At: /etc/fah-client/config.xml:2:17
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 8074
- Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
- Hardware configuration: Mac Studio M1 Max 32 GB smp6
Mac Hack i7-7700K 48 GB smp4 - Location: W. MA
Re: Terminal only device
Hopefully someone who has done this sees it and gives some fix to the exact syntax. I personally have not done it. About the only difference I see after looking closer is the example I copied had curly double quotes instead of the regular double quotes in what you posted. I don't know if that is important or just an artifact from where I copied it from.
There is this topic from an earlier beta test of the v8 client - viewtopic.php?t=41161. There is also this from Github - https://github.com/FoldingAtHome/fah-cl ... ssions/214.
There is this topic from an earlier beta test of the v8 client - viewtopic.php?t=41161. There is also this from Github - https://github.com/FoldingAtHome/fah-cl ... ssions/214.
Re: Terminal only device
Now that you have pointed it out it works if I use standard qoutes, but even then it does not appear on the web control panel
(systemctl status fah-client) reports that everything is fine
EDIT: it just appeared later, probably needed some time for smth to refetch
(systemctl status fah-client) reports that everything is fine
EDIT: it just appeared later, probably needed some time for smth to refetch
Re: Terminal only device
I use lufah (https://github.com/kbernhagen/lufah) which can control it from command line.
Simple as that! Then you don't need to set up an account or use a browser.
Code: Select all
pipx install lufah
-
- Site Moderator
- Posts: 1404
- Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 1:33 am
- Location: San Francisco, CA
- Contact:
Re: Terminal only device
You do need an account and linking if you want secure remote monitoring and control from anywhere on your phone.
Re: Terminal only device
I connect to it with SSH remotely. I was just throwing out a suggestion in case it helps OP and in case they want to control it through a terminal directly.
-
- Site Moderator
- Posts: 1404
- Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 1:33 am
- Location: San Francisco, CA
- Contact:
Re: Terminal only device
Fair enough.