Post requests to add new GPUs to the official whitelist here.
Moderators: Site Moderators , FAHC Science Team
ChristianVirtual
Posts: 1576 Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: Tokyo
Post
by ChristianVirtual » Sat Jul 02, 2016 10:41 pm
had a look into the header of my log file after the reinstall of CentOS 7 and the nV 367.27 driver ... found something interesting:
Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2016-07-02T14:19:18Z ***********************
14:19:18:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
14:19:18: Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
14:19:18: Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
14:19:18: Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
14:19:18: Args: --child --lifeline 3142 /etc/fahclient/config.xml --run-as
14:19:18: fahclient --pid-file=/var/run/fahclient.pid --daemon
14:19:18: Config: /etc/fahclient/config.xml
14:19:18:******************************** Build ********************************
14:19:18: Version: 7.4.4
14:19:18: Date: Mar 4 2014
14:19:18: Time: 12:01:17
14:19:18: SVN Rev: 4130
14:19:18: Branch: fah/trunk/client
14:19:18: Compiler: GNU 4.1.2 20080704 (Red Hat 4.1.2-46)
14:19:18: Options: -std=gnu++98 -O3 -funroll-loops -mfpmath=sse -ffast-math
14:19:18: -fno-unsafe-math-optimizations -msse2
14:19:18: Platform: linux2 2.6.18-164.11.1.el5
14:19:18: Bits: 64
14:19:18: Mode: Release
14:19:18:******************************* System ********************************
14:19:18: CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600S CPU @ 2.80GHz
14:19:18: CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
14:19:18: CPUs: 8
14:19:18: Memory: 31.21GiB
14:19:18:Free Memory: 30.03GiB
14:19:18: Threads: POSIX_THREADS
14:19:18: OS Version: 3.10
14:19:18:Has Battery: false
14:19:18: On Battery: false
14:19:18: UTC Offset: 9
14:19:18: PID: 3144
14:19:18: CWD: /var/lib/fahclient
14:19:18: OS: Linux 3.10.0-327.22.2.el7.x86_64 x86_64
14:19:18: OS Arch: AMD64
14:19:18: GPUs: 3
14:19:18: GPU 0: NVIDIA:5 GM200 [GeForce GTX 980 Ti]
14:19:18: GPU 1: NVIDIA:5 GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070]
14:19:18: GPU 2: UNSUPPORTED: NV3 [PCI]
14:19:18: CUDA: 6.1
14:19:18:CUDA Driver: 8000
14:19:18:***********************************************************************
I agree with the list for GPU 0 and GPU 1; I would disagree with the GPU 2; not sure where that is coming from ...
Code: Select all
$ lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GM200 [GeForce GTX 980 Ti] (rev a1)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
Any idea where the phantom is coming from ?
folding slots are only configures for the two real GPU's; its not hurting and might be a driver glitch. The FAHClient 7.4.4 is several times reinstalled but with the same result.
ChristianVirtual
Posts: 1576 Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: Tokyo
Post
by ChristianVirtual » Sat Jul 02, 2016 10:44 pm
interesting: just see that also in the log from this windows-oriented thread: viewtopic.php?f=83&t=28859
my FAHclient -lspci
Code: Select all
[ ~]$ FAHClient --lspci
VendorID:DeviceID:Vendor Name:Description
0x8086:0x0100:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x0101:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x0105:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x1e31:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x1e3a:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x1503:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x1e2d:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x1e20:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x1e10:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x1e14:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x1e16:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x244e:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x1e1e:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x1e26:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x1e44:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x1e02:Intel Corporation:
0x8086:0x1e22:Intel Corporation:
0x10de:0x17c8:NVIDIA Corporation:
0x10de:0x0fb0:NVIDIA Corporation:
0x10de:0x1b81:NVIDIA Corporation:
0x10de:0x10f0:NVIDIA Corporation:NV3 [PCI]
0x1b21:0x1042:ASMedia Technology Inc.:
0x1b21:0x0612:ASMedia Technology Inc.:
0x1b21:0x1080:ASMedia Technology Inc.:
0x1b21:0x1042:ASMedia Technology Inc.:
looks like the audio part of the card get misidentified as GPU ...
Code: Select all
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GM200 [GeForce GTX 980 Ti] (rev a1)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation Device 0fb0 (rev a1)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
02:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation Device 10f0 (rev a1)
Foxbat
Posts: 94 Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Hardware configuration: Apple Mac Pro 1,1 2x2.66 GHz Dual-Core Xeon w/10 GB RAM | EVGA GTX 960, Zotac GTX 750 Ti | Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Dell Precision T7400 2x3.0 GHz Quad-Core Xeon w/16 GB RAM | Zotac GTX 970 | Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Apple iMac Retina 5K 4.00 GHz Core i7 w/8 GB RAM | OS X 10.11.3 (El Capitan)
Location: Michiana, USA
Post
by Foxbat » Tue Aug 30, 2016 1:33 pm
I noticed the OP has a GTX 1070, and I saw this same behavior on my Dell T7400 after I installed my new GTX 1070. It hasn't seemed to have a negative impact on Folding.
Due to the difference in slot order, mine shows GPU0 as NVIDIA:5 GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070], GPU1 as UNSUPPORTED: NV3 [PCI], and GPU2 as NVIDIA: 5 GM206 [GeForce GTX 960]
Nathan_P
Posts: 1165 Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:22 pm
Hardware configuration: Asus Z8NA D6C, 2 x5670@3.2 Ghz, , 12gb Ram, GTX 980ti, AX650 PSU, win 10 (daily use) Asus Z87 WS, Xeon E3-1230L v3, 8gb ram, KFA GTX 1080, EVGA 750ti , AX760 PSU, Mint 18.2 OS Not currently folding Asus Z9PE- D8 WS, 2 E5-2665@2.3 Ghz, 16Gb 1.35v Ram, Ubuntu (Fold only) Asus Z9PA, 2 Ivy 12 core, 16gb Ram, H folding appliance (fold only)
Location: Jersey, Channel islands
Post
by Nathan_P » Tue Aug 30, 2016 3:25 pm
I got the unsupported: NV3 PCI message on my 1070 as well, it took a few attempts to get the card running but its now fine, driver glitch or a misreading of the audio device in the detection routines on the client?
bruce
Posts: 20824 Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.
Post
by bruce » Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:29 pm
Nathan_P wrote: I got the unsupported: NV3 PCI message on my 1070 as well, it took a few attempts to get the card running but its now fine, driver glitch or a misreading of the audio device in the detection routines on the client?
... or a change of detection order of GPUs without repeating
all of FAH's GPU configuration process or even trying to do it without GPUs.txt being updated.
7im
Posts: 10179 Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:
Post
by 7im » Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:36 pm
As long as it stays unsupported, and the rest of the hardware is auto-detected and runs, I don't see a problem.