Show configuration of an already running client in Terminal
Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team
-
- Posts: 13
- Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:22 am
Show configuration of an already running client in Terminal
If I'm running FAH within terminal I can use FAHClient --print to see how FAH is configured. How do I get terminal to show the configuration for an already running client, a client running via FAHControl?
Running FAHControl 7.3.6 on a Mac Mini, I've entered into Terminal: FAHClient --send-command 'options next-unit-percentage=99'. I'd like to see the new configuration, to see if I was successful in changing the setting. I assume what needs to be typed into Terminal would start with FAHClient --send. How do I get Terminal to show the configuration of a client running via FAHControl?
Is there documentation of options, more than what is displayed when I type FAHClient --help into Terminal? FAHClient --help is very helpful if were running FAH within Terminal, but has little info as to how to send commands to an already running client.
Running FAHControl 7.3.6 on a Mac Mini, I've entered into Terminal: FAHClient --send-command 'options next-unit-percentage=99'. I'd like to see the new configuration, to see if I was successful in changing the setting. I assume what needs to be typed into Terminal would start with FAHClient --send. How do I get Terminal to show the configuration of a client running via FAHControl?
Is there documentation of options, more than what is displayed when I type FAHClient --help into Terminal? FAHClient --help is very helpful if were running FAH within Terminal, but has little info as to how to send commands to an already running client.
-
- Site Moderator
- Posts: 2850
- Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:44 am
- Hardware configuration: OS: Windows 10, Kubuntu 19.04
CPU: i7-6700k
GPU: GTX 970, GTX 1080 TI
RAM: 24 GB DDR4 - Location: Western Washington
Re: Show configuration of an already running client in Termi
You can use telnet to connect to the local running client. FAHClient offers a socket that you can hook into. Then type help for a list of available commands, including ones that can give you status and configuration information.
telnet localhost 36330
telnet localhost 36330
F@h is now the top computing platform on the planet and nothing unites people like a dedicated fight against a common enemy. This virus affects all of us. Lets end it together.
-
- Posts: 2948
- Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
- Hardware configuration: Machine #1:
Intel Q9450; 2x2GB=8GB Ram; Gigabyte GA-X48-DS4 Motherboard; PC Power and Cooling Q750 PS; 2x GTX 460; Windows Server 2008 X64 (SP1).
Machine #2:
Intel Q6600; 2x2GB=4GB Ram; Gigabyte GA-X48-DS4 Motherboard; PC Power and Cooling Q750 PS; 2x GTX 460 video card; Windows 7 X64.
Machine 3:
Dell Dimension 8400, 3.2GHz P4 4x512GB Ram, Video card GTX 460, Windows 7 X32
I am currently folding just on the 5x GTX 460's for aprox. 70K PPD - Location: Salem. OR USA
Re: Show configuration of an already running client in Termi
You can directly look at the config.xml file in the data folder.
All the possible options for the FAHClient can be listed by setting the verbosity to 5. Then restart the client and look at the start of log.txt in the data directory. Once you have the list please place the verbosity back to the default 3 for it merely lists any changes from the default and that is much easier to diagnose from than listing every option and its current value that 5 does.
All the possible options for the FAHClient can be listed by setting the verbosity to 5. Then restart the client and look at the start of log.txt in the data directory. Once you have the list please place the verbosity back to the default 3 for it merely lists any changes from the default and that is much easier to diagnose from than listing every option and its current value that 5 does.
-
- Site Moderator
- Posts: 1328
- Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 1:33 am
- Location: San Francisco, CA
- Contact:
Re: Show configuration of an already running client in Termi
Code: Select all
FAHClient --send-command options
FAHClient --send-command 'options -d'
Code: Select all
FAHClient --send-command save
Because the options output can be hard to read, I use
Code: Select all
FAHClient --send-command 'options -d' |tr ',' '\n'
-
- Posts: 13
- Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:22 am
Re: Show configuration of an already running client in Termi
Thanks everyone.
Using telenet works great. It's fun to take a look at. I've made a note to myself. Knowing how to use telenet may come in very handy.
Once the current WU finishes, I'll restart the client, make a copy of the beginning of the log & set verbosity back to 3.
FAHClient --send-command 'options -d' |tr ',' '\n' is even an easier way for my immediate needs. Also, thanks for telling me to save. I didn't know I needed to do so.
Currently FAHControl shows a new WU beginning to download once the current WU gets to 98%. On the OSX software 7.3.6, I'm assuming the default is 98%. Maybe I'm missing something. The new WU always ends up sitting around for a while before work is started on it. I realize that setting it at 100% might get me a higher score, but it also means the nothing is being processed for a brief time & I consider the computer working full time on a WU more important than the few extra points that might be squeezed out if it is set to 100%. Will setting next-unit-percentage to 99% cause a new WU to start downloading when the current WU is at 99%, or am I misunderstanding something?
Very helpful info everyone. Thanks again.
Using telenet works great. It's fun to take a look at. I've made a note to myself. Knowing how to use telenet may come in very handy.
Once the current WU finishes, I'll restart the client, make a copy of the beginning of the log & set verbosity back to 3.
FAHClient --send-command 'options -d' |tr ',' '\n' is even an easier way for my immediate needs. Also, thanks for telling me to save. I didn't know I needed to do so.
Currently FAHControl shows a new WU beginning to download once the current WU gets to 98%. On the OSX software 7.3.6, I'm assuming the default is 98%. Maybe I'm missing something. The new WU always ends up sitting around for a while before work is started on it. I realize that setting it at 100% might get me a higher score, but it also means the nothing is being processed for a brief time & I consider the computer working full time on a WU more important than the few extra points that might be squeezed out if it is set to 100%. Will setting next-unit-percentage to 99% cause a new WU to start downloading when the current WU is at 99%, or am I misunderstanding something?
Very helpful info everyone. Thanks again.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 8002
- Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
- Hardware configuration: Mac Studio M1 Max 32 GB smp6
Mac Hack i7-7700K 48 GB smp4 - Location: W. MA
Re: Show configuration of an already running client in Termi
The actual default value for the download percentage is 99%. A bug introduced into the client sometime between the previous public 7.2.x release and 7.3.6 often causes the download to happen one percent early. You can set it to 100%, most WU's will then start a new download at 99% most of the time.
-
- Posts: 13
- Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:22 am
Re: Show configuration of an already running client in Termi
Thank you! A couple a minutes ago FAH started downloading at 98% even after I checked & made sure next-unit-percentage was set to 99%. I was sitting here racking my brain trying to figure out where I had goofed up. Thank you.
-
- Posts: 10179
- Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
- Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
- Location: Arizona
- Contact:
Re: Show configuration of an already running client in Termi
Wasn't it just the opposite? Default was 99 but WUs download at 100%?Joe_H wrote:The actual default value for the download percentage is 99%. A bug introduced into the client sometime between the previous public 7.2.x release and 7.3.6 often causes the download to happen one percent early. You can set it to 100%, most WU's will then start a new download at 99% most of the time.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
-
- Posts: 13
- Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:22 am
Re: Show configuration of an already running client in Termi
For months I've run with next-unit-percentage set at default. Of course, I haven't watched it every time, but each time I was watching, it started downloading at 98%. Now, with it set at 100%, 4 times in a row it started downloading only after the current WU finished. I'm not that concerned about the score. I'd rather a WU be ready, to get the most work done, even if the score is less. I can go back to it downloading when a WU hits 98%. Is that my only option? Is there any way to get the client to trigger downloading after 98%, but before 100%? (I assume next-unit-percentage must be an integer.)
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 8002
- Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
- Hardware configuration: Mac Studio M1 Max 32 GB smp6
Mac Hack i7-7700K 48 GB smp4 - Location: W. MA
Re: Show configuration of an already running client in Termi
Nope. An occasional WU would download later than 99%, but almost all would do it once the completion of 99% was recorded in the log. The bug introduced affects almost all downloads and causes them to be early.7im wrote:Wasn't it just the opposite? Default was 99 but WUs download at 100%?Joe_H wrote:The actual default value for the download percentage is 99%. A bug introduced into the client sometime between the previous public 7.2.x release and 7.3.6 often causes the download to happen one percent early. You can set it to 100%, most WU's will then start a new download at 99% most of the time.