Page 1 of 2

Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Sun Mar 30, 2025 8:45 pm
by ersguteralbaner
Hello together,
Iam new to this and I want to run a Docker Container with the FAH Client. The issue I currently have is that when I start the containers on my Setups the Folding doesnt start automatically on the GPU. I have to go to the Website and manually select the GPU and disable the CPU cores and also click the start buttom. I dont want to do that extra step. Is there a way to avoid that?

I saw these options for the config.xml file but these doesnt seem to work on the latest version:

<power v='full'/> → Ensures full usage.
<gpu v='true'/> → Enables GPU folding.
<fold-anon v='true'/> → Automatically starts without user intervention.

I appreciate any help.

Kind regards

Re: Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Sun Mar 30, 2025 9:33 pm
by calxalot
You need to have a persistent work directory for the client.
Once configured, it is possible for it to auto fold.

Re: Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Sun Mar 30, 2025 9:39 pm
by calxalot

Re: Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2025 6:27 am
by ersguteralbaner
calxalot wrote: Sun Mar 30, 2025 9:33 pm You need to have a persistent work directory for the client.
Once configured, it is possible for it to auto fold.
Iam using a persistent work directory and have mounted it into the container. ( -v /path/to/foldingathome/data:/config \) Do I need to also define it in the config.xml?
Iam using the same Docker Image you sent. It still doesnt seem to auto fold and I also have to manually enable the GPU on the website.

Re: Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2025 6:37 am
by calxalot
Everything you need for the linuxserverio image is in the examples in their readme.

For some command line control, you might like lufah.

https://github.com/kbernhagen/lufah

With lufah, you can create a group with zero cpus and all GPUs enabled and start folding.

Assuming your GPUs are supported by the container.

Note it is up to you to not oversubscribe cpu threads.

Re: Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2025 12:33 pm
by ersguteralbaner
Ive discoverd the client.db where the data gets stored about activating the gpus in the Web Userinterface. It looks like this.
{
"on_idle": false,
"on_battery": true,
"keep_awake": true,
"paused": true,
"finish": false,
"beta": false,
"cuda": true,
"key": 0,
"cpus": 0,
"gpus": {
"gpu:01:00:00": {"enabled": false},
"gpu:05:00:00": {"enabled": true},
"gpu:19:00:00": {"enabled": false}
}
}

The last part is interesting for me as there is where the gpu are being enabled. So my question is: Is it possible to enable all gpus without knowing the pcie Ids. Iam asking because I want to deploy alot of docker containers remotely on several setups and I cant figure those out easy and also dont want to use the WebInterface to enable those for each setup i will be deploying.
I want to have them enabled by default.

Hope this makes it clear.

Re: Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2025 1:22 pm
by muziqaz
GPUs are enabled, when compatible platform is found on the system by fahclient.
I would assume within a docker you have to have CUDA, OpenCL platforms set up for fahclient to see them and mark GPUs as enabled

Re: Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2025 6:12 pm
by calxalot
If the containers are identical, you can probably safely configure a client, quit it, and share the client.db.

I recommend you do not edit client.db directly.

Re: Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2025 6:13 pm
by calxalot
Do not share a client.db with any work units.

Re: Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2025 6:14 pm
by calxalot
Lufah can do what you want.

Re: Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2025 8:35 am
by ersguteralbaner
calxalot wrote: Mon Mar 31, 2025 6:14 pm Lufah can do what you want.
Even though the setups will not be on a local network?

Re: Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2025 9:05 am
by calxalot
No, lufah makes a direct websocket connection. But don’t you have localhost access in the container when setting it up?

Re: Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2025 9:34 am
by calxalot
I'm afraid I don't understand what you're trying to do.
Why don't you want to use web control?

I'm a novice with docker.
Maybe someone else can help you.

Re: Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2025 9:43 am
by arisu
ersguteralbaner wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 8:35 am
calxalot wrote: Mon Mar 31, 2025 6:14 pm Lufah can do what you want.
Even though the setups will not be on a local network?
You can use lufah over SSH forwarding or over an encrypted VPN. Or anything else that lets you tunnel an unencrypted connection through an encrypted and authenticated one.

Re: Start Folding on GPU without Website

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2025 10:52 am
by ersguteralbaner
calxalot wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 9:05 am No, lufah makes a direct websocket connection. But don’t you have localhost access in the container when setting it up?
No I do not. I want to deploy Docker images on Setups that are not owned by me. There are Hosts on a decentralized network called Nosana, where they basically rent out their idle GPU power, where I want to deploy the FAH Docker container.
I think I cant even use the WebControl for that if its not in the local network, can I?