Page 1 of 1

cuda not found

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2024 10:22 am
by promeneur
Yesterday there were a big update (about 5000 packages) then i get this :

CUDA: Not detected: cuInit() returned 999
---
WARNING:FS01:No CUDA or OpenCL 1.2+ support detected for GPU slot 01: gpu:1:0 GP108 [GeForce GT 1030]. Disabling.

opencl info :

Number of platforms 1
Platform Name NVIDIA CUDA
Platform Vendor NVIDIA Corporation
Platform Version OpenCL 3.0 CUDA 12.3.99
Platform Profile FULL_PROFILE
Platform Extensions cl_khr_global_int32_base_atomics
...

Platform Name NVIDIA CUDA
Number of devices 1
Device Name NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030
Device Vendor NVIDIA Corporation
Device Vendor ID 0x10de
Device Version OpenCL 3.0 CUDA
Device UUID af5796b8-8307-1190-b16d-a80a088c45be
Driver UUID af5796b8-8307-1190-b16d-a80a088c45be
Valid Device LUID No
Device LUID 6d69-637300000000
Device Node Mask 0
Device Numeric Version 0xc00000 (3.0.0)
Driver Version 545.29.06
Device OpenCL C Version OpenCL C 1.2
Device OpenCL C all versions OpenCL C

Re: cuda not found

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2024 4:16 pm
by Joe_H
You did not mention which OS, but someone reported problems updating the Nvidia drivers on Ubuntu in mid January - viewtopic.php?t=40994. Apparently the driver package with the update was missing headers. Perhaps that will help you in getting your GT 1030 going again.

Re: cuda not found

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2024 4:23 pm
by promeneur
Sorry

It is openSUSE Tumbleweed.

Re: cuda not found

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2024 4:37 pm
by promeneur
I use FAH rpms from someone named "curiosity" who builds fah rpms for openSUSE.
FAHClient is launching with a systemd service.
Fah does only cpu computing. No more cuda computing.

I reinstalled the rpms from folding@home.
I launched FAHClient under my user id in konsole. There is no problem with the gpu nvidia. Cuda is found by FAHClient. GPU Computing works well !

But if I tried to launch FAHClient with a systemd service, thus as root, it does not find cuda ! Only cpu computing runs well. The exact same problem as with rpms from "curiosity".

Is it an ACL problem ?

Re: cuda not found

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2024 9:24 am
by promeneur
I wonder if FAH 7.6.21 is obsolete ?

Re: cuda not found

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2024 1:31 pm
by promeneur
hypothesis :

fahclient does not find the icd files.

Do you know a little app which uses cuda according to do a test ?

Re: cuda not found

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2024 3:26 pm
by promeneur
Where does FAH expect to find cuda and opencl icd ?

Re: cuda not found

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2024 6:07 pm
by promeneur
I made this experiment

in a root text console i run :
clinfo
then
systemctl start fahclient

This time, Fah detects nvidia cuda and nvidia opencl !!!!!

Re: cuda not found

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2024 6:20 pm
by promeneur
I found a solution

I add for gpu slot

cuda-index = 0
opencl-index = 0
gpu-index = 0

Now fah finds nvidia cuda and nvidia opencl !!! Victory.

Re: cuda not found

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2024 6:52 pm
by promeneur
adding for gpu slot

cuda-index = 0
opencl-index = 0
gpu-index = 0

does not work.
We must run "clinfo" before fahclient at PC starting.

I put "clinfo" command in a custom service. this service happily (i don't know why) is started before fahclient.

It works.