Page 1 of 1

GPUs Info

Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2023 10:47 am
by Xorxos
Hello,

It looks like, the computing works, but, there is an error with gpu info.

I have these 3. I think Arc computes, but it shows that AMD done this.

How to show proper hardware?

https://pasteboard.co/I8HLbWbWS0rV.png

https://pasteboard.co/481D0zSWNZgB.png

Re: GPUs Info

Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2023 3:20 pm
by Joe_H
The GPU info is probably correct, the Arc 770 is not enabled to do folding currently as it does not support double precision in hardware. Intel provides emulated DP calculations through its driver, but tests have shown that does not work properly with the current GPU folding core.

It looks like you are using Task Manager to see GPU utilization. By default that displays video rendering, not the calculation processing. You would need to change to one of the optional Compute modes to show F@H utilization of the AMD GPU. Or use something like GPU-Z which will directly show that.

Re: GPUs Info

Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2023 6:45 pm
by toTOW
There's nothing wrong here ... the client seen the the Vega M GPU and the Intel HD 630 integrated in your CPU since they are both capable to fold. Although the Intel iGPUs are too slow for most work, which mean why it doesn't get work.

The Intel dedicated GPUs (Arc) are no capable of folding, so no one ever bother entering them in the GPUs.txt file, which explain why it doesn't appear in the client.

Please post soe logs if we didn't answer your question : viewtopic.php?f=24&t=26036

Re: GPUs Info

Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2023 7:04 pm
by Joe_H
toTOW wrote: Mon Oct 23, 2023 6:45 pm The Intel dedicated GPUs (Arc) are no capable of folding, so no one ever bother entering them in the GPUs.txt file, which explain why it doesn't appear in the client.
It doesn't appear in the web control, but there actually is an entry in GPUs.txt to blacklist the Arc A770:

Code: Select all

0x8086:0x56a0:::DG2 [Arc A770]
No numbers between the colons in the middle of the entry indicate a blacklisted GPU.

Re: Información de las GPU

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2024 4:32 pm
by jlopz
Isn't it enough for a GPU to have OpenCL support to work with FahClient? What version of OpenCL is required? In addition to support for that version of OpenCL, does the GPU need to have FP64 support?

Re: Información de las GPU

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2024 7:03 pm
by Joe_H
jlopz wrote: Sat Jul 13, 2024 4:32 pm Isn't it enough for a GPU to have OpenCL support to work with FahClient? What version of OpenCL is required? In addition to support for that version of OpenCL, does the GPU need to have FP64 support?
Minimum OpenCL version is 1.2. Yes, FP64 support is required. The current GPU folding cores use some double precision calculations where needed to maintain sufficient numerical accuracy. They investigated use of emulated FP64 calculations, they did not always work out and would slow all GPU folders down.

Current GPU cores also use NVidia CUDA instead of OpenCL on GPUs supported by the CUDA libraries included in the code. The oldest Nvidia GPUs supported by F@h with Kepler chips fall back to OpenCL, Maxwell and newer chips use CUDA if the drivers and support libraries are installed correctly.

Re: Información de las GPU

Posted: Sun Jul 14, 2024 11:17 am
by jlopz
Joe_H wrote: Sat Jul 13, 2024 7:03 pm
jlopz wrote: Sat Jul 13, 2024 4:32 pm Isn't it enough for a GPU to have OpenCL support to work with FahClient? What version of OpenCL is required? In addition to support for that version of OpenCL, does the GPU need to have FP64 support?
Minimum OpenCL version is 1.2. Yes, FP64 support is required. The current GPU folding cores use some double precision calculations where needed to maintain sufficient numerical accuracy. They investigated use of emulated FP64 calculations, they did not always work out and would slow all GPU folders down.

Current GPU cores also use NVidia CUDA instead of OpenCL on GPUs supported by the CUDA libraries included in the code. The oldest Nvidia GPUs supported by F@h with Kepler chips fall back to OpenCL, Maxwell and newer chips use CUDA if the drivers and support libraries are installed correctly.
Thanks for your answer. It's a shame not to be able to use the Intel ARC, they would perform great.

Re: GPUs Info

Posted: Sun Jul 14, 2024 6:11 pm
by Joe_H
jlopz wrote: Sun Jul 14, 2024 11:17 am Thanks for your answer. It's a shame not to be able to use the Intel ARC, they would perform great.
Perhaps it will be possible with a newer generation ARC line of chips. It is possible Intel will reconsider taking out the hardware FP64 support and include it again. It was present in a few generations of their iGPU designs before ARC which worked for some smaller F@h projects..