Page 1 of 1
Port 36330 - simulation-info - "energy" and "temperature"?
Posted: Tue May 05, 2020 6:15 am
by level6
I have been playing around on port 36330 to automate some more detailed stats, and I see that the simulation-info command provides "energy" and "temperature" fields which are always 0.
Code: Select all
# echo -e "simulation-info 0\x0dexit\x0d" | nc 127.0.0.1 36330|egrep -v -e Welcome -e '>' -e PyON -e '\-\-\-'
{"user": "level6", "team": "262711", "project": 16437, "run": 0, "clone": 585, "gen": 3, "core_type": 167, "core": "GRO_A7", "total_iterations": 100, "iterations_done": 89, "energy": 0, "temperature": 0, "start_time": "2020-05-05T02:47:30Z", "timeout": 0, "deadline": 1589251650, "eta": 1872, "progress": 0.896575, "slot": 0}
What should be filling those fields in? Is there a hook to allow me to fill them in? I am gathering temperature information, otherwise, on each system. What does "energy" mean, specifically? Are these fields documented, anywhere? The
3rd party FAHClient API Wiki does not get that detailed.
Re: Port 36330 - simulation-info - "energy" and "temperature
Posted: Tue May 05, 2020 6:40 am
by ChristianVirtual
Not knowing the details; but wondering since years too.
I assume that would be something the researcher could setup in a project as the molecular dynamics might depend on those parameter and influence the behavior of the model.
What it not will be is the energy your PC might pull from the wall or the temp of the CPU/GPU
Re: Port 36330 - simulation-info - "energy" and "temperature
Posted: Tue May 05, 2020 6:47 am
by bruce
Energy and Temperature are common characteristics of a simulated protein. Zero must mean "not set" because neither would actually be zero.
Re: Port 36330 - simulation-info - "energy" and "temperature
Posted: Tue May 05, 2020 6:53 am
by level6
Ah! Interesting. Thank you both, very much! (Yes, I was assuming core temp related.)
Re: Port 36330 - simulation-info - "energy" and "temperature
Posted: Tue May 05, 2020 6:55 am
by anandhanju
Yep. md.log shows the initial temperature (for instance, "Initial temperature: 297.483 K") for the simulation.
I'm surprised about "timeout": 0 because this project has a 2 day timeout. I'd have expected it to say "timeout": 1588819650 to correspond to 2020-05-07T02:47:30Z
Re: Port 36330 - simulation-info - "energy" and "temperature
Posted: Tue May 05, 2020 7:07 am
by level6
This client has moved on to the next WU, but checking now, it also has 0 for "timeout".
Code: Select all
# echo -e "simulation-info 0\x0dexit\x0d" | nc 127.0.0.1 36330|egrep -v -e Welcome -e '>' -e PyON -e '\-\-\-'
{"user": "level6", "team": "262711", "project": 13850, "run": 0, "clone": 4956, "gen": 67, "core_type": 167, "core": "GRO_A7", "total_iterations": 100, "iterations_done": 4, "energy": 0, "temperature": 0, "start_time": "2020-05-05T06:39:09Z", "timeout": 0, "deadline": 1589265549, "eta": 27188, "progress": 0.046035, "slot": 0}
It might be something funky with this client, somehow. I have check all of the rest (13 total slots) and all of them have a value in there.
Re: Port 36330 - simulation-info - "energy" and "temperature
Posted: Tue May 05, 2020 7:10 am
by anandhanju
Interesting. In any case, it is not of much significance to the local client and does not impact functioning as far as I can tell. The timeout determines if the WU is flagged for reassignment by the servers and if bonus points are awarded on return, both of which are controlled by the servers.