Page 1 of 1

Limitate Performance in Linux command Line

Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:20 pm
by MrWaffelXD
Hey there,

I fold with my server and want FAH to use less CPU performance.

To start folding I use the following command:

Code: Select all

FAHClient --user=USERNAME --team=260329 --passkey=PASSKEY --gpu=false --smp=true
I have 10 cores available. How can I use for example only 7 of them or only use 70% cpu usage and leave the rest for the system by modifying this command?
I only have the possibility to use the command line in CentOS 7.

Have a nice day,
Jonas

Re: Limitate Performance in Linux command Line

Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:25 pm
by PantherX
Welcome to the F@H Forum MrWaffelXD,

Is there a reason you're not using the config.xml file? It would be a simple matter matter of modifying the config.xml file to this:

Code: Select all

  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
    <cpus v='6'/>
  </slot>
Since you have 10 cores, your options are 8, 6, 4, 3, 2 based on the fact that some prime numbers don't fold WUs so are black listed. If you would like to know more, read this rather technical topic: viewtopic.php?f=72&t=34350

Re: Limitate Performance in Linux command Line

Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2020 6:59 pm
by MrWaffelXD
Hi PantherX,

there is no real reson why i'm not using the config file. It just took a lot of time and roundabouts to even get FAH started. I guess i'm just to affraid to mess something up. :)
I will try using the config file.

Is there a something like a documentation about that?
Cause I guess it would be nice if I save for example my Username and my passkey etc. in that file too.

Re: Limitate Performance in Linux command Line

Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2020 7:28 pm
by HaloJones

Code: Select all


<!-- User Information -->
  <passkey v='x'/>
  <team v='x'/>
  <user v='x'/>
in config.xml

Re: Limitate Performance in Linux command Line

Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2020 3:11 am
by PantherX
MrWaffelXD wrote:...Is there a something like a documentation about that?...
During a normal installation, there should be sample-config.xml and it has pretty good information on few aspects. Here are its contents:

Code: Select all

<config>
  <!--
    This is a sample XML configuration file for the Folding@home
    console client.  This configuration file format is explained
    in detail in the Client User's Guide.

    Copy this file to 'config.xml' and edit.

    To set your user name, team and passkey just edit the text
    in quotes below.
  -->

  <!-- User Information -->
  <user value="anonymous"/> <!-- Enter your user name here -->
  <team value="0"/>         <!-- Your team number -->
  <passkey value=""/>       <!-- 32 hexadecimal characters if provided -->

  <power value="light"/>
  <gpu value="false"/>      <!-- If true, attempt to autoconfigure GPUs -->
  <fold-anon value="false"/>

  <!-- Folding Slots
    No folding slot configuration is necessary.  The client will
    automaticlaly choose a good configuration for you.  However, here
    are some examples:
  
      <slot id="0" type="CPU"/>

    or
    
      <slot id="0" type="CPU"/>
      <slot id="1" type="GPU"/>

    All slots in a configuration MUST have unique ids.
   -->

  <!-- Granting Remote FAHControl Access
    To grant remote access to FAHControl and the remote command server add
    the following:

      <allow>127.0.0.1 x.x.x.x</allow>
      <password>PASS</password>

    Where x.x.x.x is the IP address of the computer which should be granted
    remote access and PASS is you choose to further secure the connection.
  -->

  <!-- Granting Remote Web Access
    If you would like to grant remote Web access then you need these two
    configuration lines:

      <allow>127.0.0.1 x.x.x.x</allow>
      <web-allow>127.0.0.1 x.x.x.x</web-allow>

    Where x.x.x.x is the IP address of the computer which should be granted
    remote access.  You may also need to open port 7396 on your firewall.

    You can then access the Web interface remotely by going to this address:

      http://y.y.y.y:7396/

    Where y.y.y.y is the IP address of this computer.
  -->
</config>


Re: Limitate Performance in Linux command Line

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 8:00 pm
by v00d00
If you want more options to mess with, run the client with the flag:

Code: Select all

./FAHClient --help
You should be able to work out what things do and how to change them from the info in the config.xml