Page 1 of 1

Starting fahclient in CentOS

Posted: Sun May 26, 2013 9:03 pm
by TonyStewart14
I have a server I'm trying to start F@H on through the command line and have installed it, but when I type

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/FAHClient start
it reads back

Code: Select all

Starting fahclient ... FAIL
. It's a CentOS 6.4 server and I installed 7.2.9. Any ideas? I could try rebooting, although I prefer not to as it is a live server.

Re: Starting fahclient in CentOS

Posted: Sun May 26, 2013 9:17 pm
by Ivoshiee
Do you have valid /etc/fahclient/config.xml file in place?

Re: Starting fahclient in CentOS

Posted: Sun May 26, 2013 10:50 pm
by TonyStewart14
I edited config.xml in VI to add my username, team and passkey, and set the auto-detect for SMP only. I know at the top it says something about it being an example, but it seems like it should already be active and I should just have to type in " :x " at the end. Is this correct?

Re: Starting fahclient in CentOS

Posted: Mon May 27, 2013 12:11 am
by calxalot
Maybe try

Code: Select all

sudo /etc/init.d/FAHClient start

Re: Starting fahclient in CentOS

Posted: Mon May 27, 2013 1:02 am
by Jesse_V
TonyStewart14 wrote:I edited config.xml in VI to add my username, team and passkey, and set the auto-detect for SMP only. I know at the top it says something about it being an example, but it seems like it should already be active and I should just have to type in " :x " at the end. Is this correct?
According to the Linux Installation Guide:
The cores, logs, and work folder, plus current log file, are located here:
/var/lib/fahclient

The config.xml file is located here:
/etc/fahclient

The FAHClient is started and stopped via the service script in /etc/init.d/FAHClient.
sudo /etc/init.d/FAHClient start
sudo /etc/init.d/FAHClient stop

Re: Starting fahclient in CentOS

Posted: Mon May 27, 2013 2:09 am
by TonyStewart14
In response to the last two posts, I tried that start command and was already superuser and didn't need to specify sudo. I was hoping for a way to start it without restarting the server.

EDIT: I ended up just installing v6 and it worked fine. Mods, you can lock this if need be.

Re: Starting fahclient in CentOS

Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:41 am
by BertNZ
Hi,

Bit late to the party but... I can confirm 7.3.6 SMP folding works fine on CentOS - have had it running on an i7 920 machine for 6 oldd months now. I used the RPMs provided and installed them using RPM.

[root@trixie fahclient]# rpm -qa |grep fah
fahclient-7.3.6-1.x86_64
fahcontrol-7.3.6-1.noarch

GPU folding does NOT work even though the nVidia driver will install OK and the client will recognise the GPU in the system. Some of the libraries the FAH GPU bits are compiled against are too old on CentOS/RHEL6 and our kernel is still the old 2.6 branch too - GPU folding needs Kernel 2.8 or 3.x - can't remember exactly. CentOS/RHEL uses trusty ol' 2.6.32.
Basically if you want to GPU fold on RH GNU/Linux, you gotta use the latest Fedora.

When working out what's going wrong,

Code: Select all

tail /var/log/messages
is helpful. If something is gonna die and complain about it, it'll probably get logged there. I think that's how I found the GPU bits complaining about missing libraries.

Here's an example config which should be located as /etc/fahclient/config.xml
The owner/group/permissions are:
-rw-r--r-- 1 fahclient root 521 Oct 20 21:49 config.xml

Code: Select all

<config>
  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
  <power v='full'/>

  <!-- HTTP Server -->
  <allow v='127.0.0.1 0.0.0.0/0'/>
  <deny v=''/>

  <!-- Network -->
  <proxy v=':8080'/>

  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
  <command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1 0.0.0.0/0'/>
  <command-deny-no-pass v=''/>

  <!-- User Information -->
  <passkey v='*****'/>
  <user v='BertNZ'/>

  <!-- Folding Slots -->
  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
    <client-type v='advanced'/>
    <cpus v='-1'/>
  </slot>
</config>
I'd encourage you to try 7.3.6 again if you haven't done already.

Re: Starting fahclient in CentOS

Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2015 3:07 pm
by targitaj
I have message
Starting fahclient ... FAIL
but it works
lsb_release -a
No LSB modules are available.
Distributor ID: Debian
Description: Debian GNU/Linux 7.8 (wheezy)
Release: 7.8
Codename: wheezy
client 7.4.4 installed deb
Why it say me "FAIL"?

Re: Starting fahclient in CentOS

Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2015 4:53 pm
by bruce
targitaj wrote:client 7.4.4 installed deb
Why it say me "FAIL"?
That's a good question. Please find the log, which should be at /var/lib/fahclient, and post enough of it that we can figure out what the problem is.

Is it possible that FAHClient.exe was already running? Trying to start a second copy SHOULD fail.